Skip to main content

Potsdam - a city for everyone

Potsdam with its 175,000 inhabitants is the most populous city in and also the capital of Brandenburg. The city borders Berlin in the southwest and is otherwise surrounded by the Havel river and numerous Brandenburg lakes. Potsdam is thus a popular destination for those interested in culture and a green balance to the federal capital.

As a former residence of the kings of Prussia, Potsdam is still easily recognizable thanks to its numerous castles and parks. These were also listed as UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage Sites in 1990.

In the city centre, which is characterised by old buildings, there are the impressive buildings of the Brandenburg State Parliament and the Nicolai Church. In the centre there is also the Dutch Quarter with its many small shops and cafés to explore.
During a walk through the Sanssouci Park you will find the palace of the same name, the New Palace (partly a university building) and Charlottenhof Palace as well as the historic Roman baths - just to mention the main attractions of the park.
The Sacred Lake in the northern part of the city centre is ideal for a short excursion into the countryside: here you can bathe and there are more castles to discover in the park with the New Garden.
The Filmpark Babelsberg in the beautiful district of the same name not only offers an interesting destination for a look behind the scenes but is also one of the leading international centres for film and television productions.

In recent years, Potsdam has also increasingly developed into a student city: 25,000 students visit the University of Potsdam, which is spread across the entire city with three different locations. 

We welcome you to the city on the Havel!

Potsdam
View over Potsdam and the Havel river

 

Nicolaikirche
In the front: State Parliament     In the back: Nicolai Church
Schloss Sanssouci
Castle of Sanssouci

Direkt zum Inhalt

Potsdam - eine Stadt für alle

Potsdam ist mit gut 175.000 Einwohnern die bevölkerungsreichste und auch Hauptstadt Brandenburgs. Im Südwesten grenzt die Stadt an Berlin und ist ansonsten rundum von der Havel und zahlreichen Brandenburger Seen umgeben. Damit bildet Potsdam ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel für Kulturinteressierte und einen grünen Ausgleich zur Bundeshauptstadt.

Als ehemalige Residenzstadt der Könige von Preußen ist Potsdam dank seiner zahlreichen Schlösser und Parks immer noch gut erkennbar. Diese sind 1990 auch als UNESCO-Weltkultur- und Naturerbe aufgenommen worden.

In der von Altbauten geprägten Innenstadt stehen die imposanten Bauwerke des Brandenburgischen Landtags und der Nicolaikirche. Außerdem gibt es im Zentrum das Holländische Viertel mit seinen vielen kleinen Läden und Cafés zu erkunden.
Bei einem Spaziergang durch den Park Sanssouci findet man das gleichnamige Schloss, das Neue Palais (teilweise Universitätsgebäude) und Schloss Charlottenhof sowie die historischen Römischen Bäder – um nur die Hauptattraktionen des Parks zu nennen.
Für einen kleinen Ausflug ins Grüne eignet sich der Heilige See im nördlichen Teil der Innenstadt: hier kann gebadet werden und im dazugehörigen Park mit dem Neuen Garten gibt es weitere Schlösser zu entdecken.
Der Filmpark Babelsberg bietet im schönen gleichnamigen Stadtteil nicht nur ein interessantes Ausflugsziel für einen Blick hinter die Kulissen sondern ist auch eines der führenden internationalen Zentren für Produktionen von Film und Fernsehen.

In den letzten Jahren entwickelte sich Potsdam außerdem zunehmend zur Studentenstadt: 25.000 Studierende besuchen die Universität Potsdam, die sich mit drei verschiedenen Standorten über die gesamte Stadt verteilt. 

Wir heißen Sie willkommen in der Stadt an der Havel!

Potsdam
Blick auf Potsdam und die Havel

 

Nicolaikirche
Vordergrund: Landtag     Hintergrund: Nicolaikirche
Schloss Sanssouci
Schloss Sanssouci