Skip to main content

The University of Potsdam - Where knowledge grows

With its foundation in 1991, the university began to grow steadily. With almost 21,000 students, 2,500 international students and almost 3,000 employees, the University of Potsdam is currently the largest university in the state of Brandenburg and is highly regarded nationally and internationally. There are 5 faculties on 3 campuses. Scientific success is guaranteed by short distances to specialist libraries, scientific institutions, centres and laboratories, such as the Research and Application Centre 4.0, and sports and leisure facilities. 

The university has made it its mission to be a network for education, science and knowledge transfer. "Potsdam Transfer", a start-up and transfer centre with which the university wants to participate both entrepreneurially and economically, was also created with this in mind. The centre is suitably located on the Griebnitzsee together with the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences.

Because there are different campuses with different faculties at three locations, the University of Potsdam extends over the entire city. From the rural and constantly growing Golm campus to the campus at the Neues Palais directly in the historic Sanssouci Palace in the Park to the Griebnitzsee campus on the outskirts of Potsdam's city centre on the way to Berlin. 

Campus Griebnitzsee
Source: University of Potsdam

 

 

Campus Neues Palais
Source: University of Potsdam
Campus Golm
Source: University of Potsdam

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die Universität Potsdam - wo Wissen wächst

 

Mit der Gründung im Jahr 1991 begann die Universität stetig zu wachsen. Mit knapp 21.000 Studierenden, 2.500 internationalen Studierenden und fast 3.000 Beschäftigten, ist die Universität Potsdam aktuell die größte Hochschule im Land Brandenburg und national und international hoch angesehen. Auf 3 Campus sind 5 Fakultäten beherbergt. Durch kurze Wege zu Fachbibliotheken, wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen, Zentren und Laboren, wie dem Forschungs- und Anwendungszentrum 4.0, und Sport- und Freizeitangeboten, sind wissenschaftliche Erfolge garantiert. 

Die Universität hat sich zum Leitbild gemacht, ein Netzwerk für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Wissenstransfer zu sein. In diesem Sinne entstand auch "Potsdam Transfer", ein Gründungs- und Transfer-Zentrum mit dem die Universität sich unternehmerisch und wirtschaftlich beteiligen möchte. Passend ist das Zentrum gemeinsam mit der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät am Griebnitzsee angesiedelt.

Dadurch, dass es an drei Standorten unterschiedliche Campus mit verschiedenen Fakultäten gibt, erstreckt sich die Universität Potsdam über die gesamte Stadt. Vom ländlichen und stets wachsenden Campus Golm geht es über den Campus am Neuen Palais direkt im historischen Schloss im Park Sanssouci bis hin zum Campus Griebnitzsee am Rande der Potsdamer Innenstadt auf dem Weg nach Berlin. 

Campus Griebnitzsee
Quelle: Universität Potsdam

 

 

Campus Neues Palais
Quelle: Campus Neues Palais
Campus Golm
Quelle: Universität Potsdam